Namaste

I have been off the blog for a few weeks, but I am back if bit exhausted. I was traveling to New York where we just announced our plans to open a new branch of the Lee Strasberg Institute :

The Lee Strasberg Theatre and Film Institute -India

The school is planned to open in June of next year in Mumbai. I am very excited to be working with Rahuul Rawail, a prominent Indian film director, and Ahmed Ahsan who will be collaborating with us to provide training at the same level as we offer in New York and Los Angeles.

This is an exciting step for us at Strasberg, where we have a chance to share my father’s work with the vibrant and active creative community that calls Bollywood home. Our work always starts with the human being, and in that way the acting work is universal. I believe that the actors there are hungry for the best training in the world, and at the same time our community can be enriched by the incredible experience and texture of Indian culture.

IMG_7056

(Left to Right) Rahuul Rawail, Ahmed Ahsan, and David Lee Strasberg announcing the launch of The Lee Strasberg Theatre & Film Institute - India

Ahmed and Rahuul have worked diligently with me and with our President, Victoria Krane, to make this new school a reality. Now comes the fun part, as we put the foundation in place for a world-class institute worthy of my father and the actors who will be coming to us to pursue their dream.

I am excited to get there next year and begin to interact with so many talented actors, and I will surely share more information as it develops.

Published in: on June 29, 2009 at 1:46 pm  Comments (8)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://strasberg.wordpress.com/2009/06/29/namaste/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hi,

    According to the blog the film school would start some where around next year.Could u plz tell me what month it could happen.
    Could u also let me know what could be the fee structure like.R u goin to star the HYDERABAD branch at the same time along with the Mumbai branch.

    Thankyou

    • Rahul, the school is planned to be open starting June of next year, 2010. The fee structure has not yet been set. There will be longer conservatory programs as well as some shorter courses, so the prices will vary accordingly. As to the locations, we are finalizing now the facilities. If one location opens for classes first, I believe that it will be the Mumbai location, but that is not final. Obviously we still have much to do! So I will have more answers for you in the next few months. I am happy to keep your email information and send you updates as new information becomes available. You can also check back here as I will announce news on this site as well.

      Now I have some questions or you: What are your plans? What would you do if we were not coming there to India? Where would you train? How did you hear that we were opening in India? I am curious as to how the news is spreading.

      • My plans are,I want to becom an actor.I actually thought to join Anupam Kher’s “Actor Prepares” or “Barry Jhon acting studio” after saving some money for the fees and so on.

        I actually dont have an idea about the fee structure of barry jhon acting studio but Anupam Kher’s acting school is charging around 2 lakhs.which is something i can bare to some extent.

        I always wanted to get trained in New York Film Acadamey so that i would have an idea about how to become an actor in hollywood.

        And coming to your next question about how do i know that you are opening a film school in india is by a local news paper.

        I am looking for a film school that teaches quality education under acting.

        I’ve gone through your site and the line “We cannot give you talent,But we are goin to force you to live up to the talent that you have.”Impressed me

  2. Hi
    Rahul sir i am very happy to know that you are opening The Lee Stras berg In India next year. sir i am very much interesting to do an acting course(full time)
    from The stras berg and i am trying to apply for there from last two years but i am not getting the right way. I sent many emails and did many phone calls at your institute’s mail id and contract numbers but nobody is responding me.i am still waiting for the response that somebody will tell me the whole processor and right way that how to apply there. i am interesting to come for The Los Angeles this year. if you will tell me the whole processor that where i should contract in India(New Delhi)to come over there because i am living at Noida in India please do this favor for me at sujeetkumar786@gmail.com. thanking you.

  3. HI
    sir i am very happy to know that you are opening The Lee Stras berg In India next year. sir i am very much interesting to do an acting course(full time)
    from The stras berg and i am trying to apply for there from last two years but i am not getting the right way. I sent many emails and did many phone calls at your institute’s mail id and contract numbers but nobody is responding me.i am still waiting for the response that somebody will tell me the whole processor and right way that how to apply there. i am interesting to come for The Los Angeles this year. if you will tell me the whole processor that where i should contract in India(New Delhi)to come over there because i am living at Noida in India please do this favor for me at sujeetkumar786@gmail.com. thanking you

  4. Wow, this is a very good news to me. I have been wanting to apply to Lee Strasberg New York/LA to study acting but couldn’t do so due to financial strain.

    I have been working in the SG theatre industry for about 4.5 years now after graduating from a local arts college. I studied both drama and technical theatre arts but majoring in Stage Management. I ended up doing wardrobe management instead. But I am not complaining cos I love it, just that…I feel I am ready to pursue my first love after ‘running away’ from it for far too long. Fear is something unexplainable.

    And while looking through the institute’s website, I got interested in reading about method acting. I know nothing about it and I want to learn it. With news that it will be opening a branch in Mumbai, makes it more hopeful for me.

    I’d like to know how to fees will be like and if the institute offers any scholarships/financial assistance to potential students even without any or few acting experience in their resume? What is the admission requirement for international students? Will it be audition or interview based?

    Thank you.

  5. hi..are youll planning to start a film directing course as well??…will the institute be opening before june in mumbai??..what will be the approximate fees for the directing course if at all youll are starting one??

  6. Hello sir,i am priyanka shelke.i am so ambitious.i wanna become a superstar,i know i have that much of potential,i am very hardworking.i have wanting to apply to lee strasberg New York to study acting but couldn’t do so due to financial .i like to know how to fees will be like&if the institute offers any scholarship/financial assistance to the students,please tell me i am waiting for your reply…. do this favour for me at my email”pristini.sharma5@gmail.com”


Leave a Reply

